Château Beychevelle - A glimpse into the past...to understand

A glimpse into the past...to understand

Three centuries of history tell of powerful families that have left their mark on Beychevelle in many different ways. But to really tell the story of Beychevelle, we also need to talk of the future.

Château Beychevelle - THE OWNERS OF BEYCHEVELLE

THE OWNERS OF BEYCHEVELLE

MEN OF POWER, WOMEN OF TASTE

The men of Beychevelle have always ruled their land nobly and brought glory to the château.
Ever since its construction in 1565 by Bishop François of Foix-Candale, the reign of the Dukes of Epernon (of which the great admiral, Jean-Louis Nogaret de la Valette was the first), its rebuilding in 1757 by the Marquis de Brassier and subsequent enlargement by the Heine family, followed by the Achille-Fould family until 1986, the château has never ceased to amaze visitors, both in terms of its vineyard and the exceptional setting.

 

Beychevelle’s reputation and extraordinary beauty would not be what they are today without the help of remarkable women, such as Marie-Amélie Kohn, Madame Guestier and Madame Heine, Marie-Louise Fould and Lillette (Elisabeth de Foucaud) who have marked its history, developing its decorative style, its aura of hospitality and its beautiful gardens.

 

Today, Château Beychevelle belongs to Grands Millésimes de France, which is part of the Castel and Suntory groups, and has been managed by Aymar de Baillenx since its creation.

Château Beychevelle - AN ATTRACTIVE SETTING FOR THE PERFECT WELCOME

AN ATTRACTIVE SETTING FOR THE PERFECT WELCOME

AN ATTRACTIVE SETTING FOR THE PERFECT WELCOME

The desire to receive guests in beautiful, refined surroundings was born when the Heines lived at Beychevelle.
The couple went to great lengths to embellish the château. Monsieur took charge of levelling the front courtyard and the decoration of the gates, while in the garden, Madame created a fairy-tale landscape with sculptures, a conservatory filled with orange trees from Brazil and tropical shrubs, and an aviary for exotic birds, all interconnected by beautiful paths and walkways.

 

This desire to beautify the château and its surroundings remained a tradition for subsequent owners. To such an extent that Robert Parker declared, « Beychevelle’s wines can be as beautiful as its magnificent gardens » (Robert Parker, 1990).
Beychevelle also has a long-standing love for the arts. The creation of the Beychevelle Foundation dedicated to contemporary arts in 1990, the Equinoxe screenplay writing workshops from 1993 to 2003, and the partnership with the Mécénart association for 15 years, has inspired numerous artists to come and express their creativity at the château.

 

It is no wonder that Beychevelle attracts so many visitors every year (between 15,000 and 20,000) and that some are tempted to stay in one of the château’s thirteen rooms and to dine at the Table de Beychevelle.

Château Beychevelle - CREATION

CREATION

A PASSION FOR THE ARTS

Beychevelle has always been a home to the arts. A committed patron, the Duke of Epernon invited Molière and his troupe of actors to perform at the château.
Subsequent owners of Beychevelle continued to encourage artistic creation, embellishing the château’s architecture, and adding further paintings, furniture, sculptures, and features to the gardens.
Beychevelle gradually came to be known as the Versailles of Bordeaux, and the château developed a special relationship with the Baroque Music Centre in Versailles.

 

Established in 1990, the Fondation Beychevelle and its International Centre of Contemporary Art presents art in all its forms (fine arts, cinema, music, dance, literature, new technology, photography, and theatre). Beychevelle continued to celebrate art in 1993, welcoming Equinoxe, an event dedicated to screenplay writing chaired by Jeanne Moreau.

 

And today Château Beychevelle continues to welcome artists who come to draw inspiration from the remarkable environment.
Every year, for 15 years, an exhibition in partnership with Mécénart is organized at the château. Beychevelle also serves as a venue for classical music and Jazz concerts.
We can be confident that the château will continue to impress visitors with artistic creations and events for years to come…

Château Beychevelle - AND THE NEXT CHAPTER,

AND THE NEXT CHAPTER,

COMING SOON,
A NEW, ULTRA MODERN WINERY

We will soon be revealing its secrets and telling you its story…

Château Beychevelle - AND THE NEXT CHAPTER,

Château Beychevelle - Un peu d'histoire...pour comprendre

Un peu d'histoire...pour comprendre

Trois siècles d’Histoire racontent Beychevelle et les puissantes familles qui ont marqué son Château de bien des manières. Mais pour conter Beychevelle fidèlement, il faut aussi parler d’avenir, évidemment.

Château Beychevelle - Les propriétaires

Les propriétaires

Des hommes de pouvoir, des femmes de goût

De tous temps, les hommes de Beychevelle règnent sur leurs terres en veillant à donner au château tout son prestige.
Depuis sa construction en 1565 par l’évêque François de Foix-Candale, puis le règne des Ducs d’Epernon (dont le grand amiral Jean-Louis Nogaret de la Valette est le premier), sa reconstruction en 1757 par le marquis de Brassier, son agrandissement par la famille Heine, puis la dynastie de la famille Achille-Fould jusqu’en 1986, le château ne cesse d’étonner ses visiteurs, aussi bien par ses vignobles que par ses lieux de vie.

 

La réputation de Beychevelle et son embellissement ne seraient tels bien sûr sans l’aide de femmes d’exception comme Marie-Amélie Kohn, Madame Guestier, Madame Heine, Marie-Louise Fould ou encore Lillette (Elisabeth de Foucaud) qui ont marqué son histoire, son style, sa décoration, son sens de l’accueil et ses magnifiques jardins.

 

Aujourd’hui, Château Beychevelle appartient à Grands Millésimes de France détenu par les groupes Castel et Suntory et géré depuis sa création par Aymar de Baillenx.

Château Beychevelle - Embellir pour toujours bien accueillir

Embellir pour toujours bien accueillir

Embellir pour toujours bien accueillir

L’envie d’accueillir et de recevoir de la plus jolie des manières naît à l’époque où les Heine résident à Beychevelle.
Le couple met tout en œuvre pour embellir le château. Monsieur prend en charge le nivellement de la cour d’entrée et la décoration du portail pendant que, côté jardin, Madame fait réaliser un paysage de conte de fées : des sculptures, une serre abritant des orangers du Brésil et des arbustes tropicaux, un volière à oiseaux exotiques, des allées, des chemins.

 

Ce désir d’embellir est resté une tradition pour les propriétaires successeurs. On dit même que « Les vins de Beychevelle peuvent être aussi beaux que sont magnifiques les jardins fleuris » (Robert Parker, 1990).
Beychevelle accueille également de par son amour pour les arts. La création en 1990 de la Fondation Beychevelle dédiée aux arts contemporains, le festival d’écriture de scénarios Equinoxe de 1993 à 2003 et le partenariat avec l’association Mécénart depuis 15 années ont donné envie à bons nombres d’artistes de venir exprimer leur créativité au cœur du château.

 

Rien d’étonnant alors au fait que Beychevelle attire autant de visiteurs chaque année (de 15 000 à 20 000) et que certains amoureux des lieux se laissent tenter par un séjour agréable dans l’une des 13 chambres du château et un dîner à la Table de Beychevelle.

Château Beychevelle - La création

La création

Par amour pour les arts

Depuis toujours, Beychevelle aime les arts. On se souvient que, déjà à l’époque, le duc d’Épernon accueille la troupe de Molière au château pour quelques répétitions.
Ensuite, les différents propriétaires de Beychevelle continuent à faire la part-belle à la création en décorant le château avec le plus grand soin: architecture, tableaux, meubles, sculptures, jardins.
Beychevelle acquière petit à petit la réputation de Versailles du bordelais, le Château tisse des liens privilégiés avec le Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles.

 

La création en 1990 de la Fondation Beychevelle et de son Centre international d’Art contemporain met en lumière l’art sous toutes ses formes (arts plastiques, cinéma, musique, danse, littérature, nouvelles technologies, photographie, théâtre). Et Beychevelle continue à célébrer l’art en 1993 en accueillant Equinoxe, un événement dédié à l’écriture de scénario présidé par Jeanne Moreau.

 

Aujourd’hui encore, Château Beychevelle reçoit des artistes venant puiser leur inspiration sur ses terres.
Chaque année, depuis 15 ans, une exposition en partenariat avec Mécénart est organisée au château. Beychevelle vibre aussi aux rythmes des concerts de musique classique et de Jazz.
Nul doute alors que l’art continuera encore à faire rêver les visiteurs du château pendant des années…

Château Beychevelle - Et maintenant

Et maintenant

un nouveau chai tourné vers l’avenir

Aussi innovant par sa technique que par son architecture aux formes cubiques et aux grands vitrages, le nouveau chai de Château Beychevelle vient renforcer le travail de précision mené par nos équipes depuis de nombreuses années.

Château Beychevelle - Et maintenant