Château Beychevelle - A vineyard

A vineyard

Château Beychevelle has 250 hectares of land, about 90 of which are planted with vines.
The rest consists of grassland where Limousin cows graze, and of pine forests, poplar, ash and walnut trees.

Château Beychevelle - The vines

The vines

The vines have an average age of 30 years and are closely planted, with densities of 8,300 to 10,000 vines per hectare; they have developed substantial root systems, enabling them to draw nutrients from deep in the soil, and to cope with the sometimes difficult weather conditions, such as when there are droughts in the summer.

 

The vineyard is planted with the Médoc’s four traditional grape varieties: 52% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot, 5% Cabernet Franc and 3% Petit Verdot.

 

Our job is to select the right grape variety for each plot, depending on the terroir’s characteristics and constraints. Manual harvests allow us to sort and retain the best grapes, which are then vinified and blended in our wines.

Château Beychevelle - BEYCHEVELLE'S SUPERB TERROIR

BEYCHEVELLE'S SUPERB TERROIR

The word Terroir only makes sense if one understands the way in which the Médoc’s climate, or microclimate, interacts with the vineyard. Even then, the picture is not complete unless we add the winemaker’s talent for growing the grapes and looking after each plot of vines.

 

The proximity of the Gironde, which can be seen from the front steps of the Château, has a protective, regulating affect on the climate that is vital for the production of exceptional wines.

 

The heart of the vineyard is located on two plateaus of deep Garonne gravel from the Gunzian period, on the edge of the Gironde, providing ideal conditions for Cabernet Sauvignon.

Château Beychevelle - BEYCHEVELLE'S SUPERB TERROIR
Château Beychevelle - A vineyard

These are the famous gravelly hilltops of the Médoc, close to the Gironde, which offer the best conditions for the classic Bordeaux varietals.

 

Returning the sun’s warmth during the night, and draining away excess rain water, the vines are able to flourish and the grapes ripen perfectly. The resulting deep red wines are well-balanced and generous, offering power tempered by a silky texture.

 

Château Beychevelle has always been careful to preserve its environment and its terroir. This commitment is given concrete form on a daily basis through our ISO 14001 certification and a sustainable agriculture approach, with part of the vineyard managed organically.

Château Beychevelle - A vineyard

Château Beychevelle - Un vignoble

Un vignoble

Les terres de Château Beychevelle s’étendent sur 250 hectares dont environ 90 plantés en vigne.
Le reste est composé de prairies où pacagent des vaches limousines,
de forêts de pins, peupliers, frênes et noyers.

Château Beychevelle - La vigne

La vigne

Les vignes, âgées de 30 ans en moyenne et plantées à fortes densités de 8300 à 10 000 pieds par hectare, ont développé un système racinaire important leur permettant d’aller puiser en profondeur leurs nutriments mais également de faire face à des conditions climatiques parfois difficiles, telles que des sècheresses estivales.

 

Le vignoble se compose des quatre cépages nobles médocains : 52 % Cabernet Sauvignon, 40 % Merlot, 5 % Cabernet Franc et de 3 % Petit Verdot.

 

Notre travail consiste à sélectionner un cépage pour chaque parcelle en fonction des typicités et des contraintes de notre terroir. Les vendanges manuelles nous permettent de trier et récolter les meilleurs raisins qui seront assemblés dans nos vins.

Château Beychevelle - Le grand terroir de Beychevelle

Le grand terroir de Beychevelle

Le mot Terroir n’a de sens que si l’on comprend la façon dont le climat ou microclimat médocain interagit avec le vignoble. Toutefois, cette définition ne serait pas complète si nous n’ajoutions pas le talent du vigneron à cultiver et prendre soin de chaque parcelle de vigne.

 

La proximité de la Gironde, que l’on peut d’ailleurs apercevoir du perron du Château, joue un rôle de protecteur et régulateur climatique essentiel à la production d’un vin d’exception.

 

Le cœur du vignoble se situe sur deux plateaux de graves garonnaises profondes de l’ère Güntz en bordure de Gironde, terroir de prédilection des Cabernets Sauvignons.

Château Beychevelle - Le grand terroir de Beychevelle
Château Beychevelle - Un vignoble

Ce sont en effet ces fameuses croupes de graves médocaines, en proximité de la Gironde, qui offrent les meilleures conditions à l’épanouissement des cépages bordelais.

 

Restituant la chaleur du soleil pendant la nuit, et drainant les excès d’eau de pluie, la vigne trouve là les conditions idéales pour faire mûrir ses raisins. Ces derniers donneront des vins, d’un rouge profond, équilibrés et généreux, tout à la fois soyeux et puissants.

 

Depuis toujours, Château Beychevelle est soucieux de préserver son environnement et ses terroirs. Cet engagement se concrétise au quotidien par notre certification ISO 14001 et par une gestion en culture raisonnée, avec une partie du vignoble en agriculture biologique.

Château Beychevelle - Un vignoble